My First Love

I recently sold a property to a very young and excited couple who were purchasing for the first time.  Giving them the keys after settlement made me a little melancholy.  Did they really understand what was ahead for them?  Could they really appreciate the scope of what was about to happen?  And let’s face it – this was more than just a purchase.  It was the beginning of their lives together as a family.

As Realtors(r), we oftentimes live vicariously through our clients’ lives.  When I was watching them go through the home for their final walk-through inspection prior to signing papers, my mind was brought back to my own first home.  I didn’t see it as a “property” or “investment” when my husband and I bought it.  It was where we were going to raise our family.  Watching them run the dishwasher and open and close windows and doors, I was transported to another place and time.

I could distinctly hear my very young daughter at the age of two tell me she was afraid to sleep alone and could she please sleep with me.  I could feel her creep into my bed in the middle of the night and almost feel the heavy heart I had some 22 years ago when I had to gently take her back to her “big girl” bed to sleep on her own.

I saw my 10 month old son running up our front yard dribbling a soccer ball – yes, you read it correctly.  He was quite advanced.  At 18 months he would throw baseballs to our Labrador mix, Lady, who obediently fetched every single one he threw – no matter where it landed.  I heard his very high pitched voice telling her “GOOD WADY!” and I could clearly see her wagging her tail in eager anticipation of the next throw.

I heard the laughter of my 6 month old daughter as she opened her very first Christmas presents.  Little did anyone in my home know that Daddy had to work the midnight shift on Christmas Day so we celebrated two days later so we could all be together.  I remember it well.

I remember my father sitting in my kitchen drinking coffee waiting to enjoy Christmas at home with my family for the first and last time.  I remember the joy in his face when we went to Mass and my children were so well behaved.  I remember coming home and making a huge feast that filled our bellies and our souls.

I remember the heartache coming home from the hospital after I miscarried…my dog, Lady, keeping vigil by my side as I wept.  But I also remember the enormous joy watching my children play and swim during those hot summer days in a little plastic pool in our less than manicured backyard.  I remember the time PopPop nearly fell in that little pool when my son squirted him accidentally with the garden hose and the hysterical laughter that followed!

I remember the dinners burned, the boo boos kissed, the late nights walking the long family room in our basement with a sick child, the Halloween costumes made by hand, the Easters hunting eggs, the many Happy Birthdays sung, the music played and dances danced, games played and lessons learned, the bedtime prayers and the I love yous that were always said.

I remember……and I’ll never forget – any of it.

I pray that every young couple entering their first home can sit down and appreciate the “moments” that make up a lifetime.  They are what make life worth living – those moments.  Not the furniture that fills the room or the cars parked in your driveway.  It’s the moments between the ones you love – in your FIRST HOME! Your FIRST LOVE!

Irene Morales Ward, Realtor (r)

REMAX Distinctive

Northern Virginia Real Estate

www.IreneMoralesWard.com

About Quantico Homes

Working primarily as a referral agent, my main motivation is to be able to provide you the highest possible level of service as you look to buy or sell your home in the Northern Virginia Real Estate market. You should be so impressed with your service that you will feel compelled to refer me to your family, friends and colleagues. Our time together is always well spent meeting your specific needs because my time and effort is not spent looking endlessly to generate more business. As an Accredited Buyer's Agent, the buyer's criteria becomes paramount during the homebuying process. Your needs will never be compromised because Dual Agency is not something I participate in. This is a distinguishing characteristic from many in the industry and I stand firm in the belief that no client in a transaction (whether a buyer or a seller) should be without 100% representation. You deserve all the loyalty and attention from an agent who will always have only your best interests in mind. Keeping in mind that Northern Virginia is a highly transient area, I am always privvy to sales reports and market analysis of all the surrounding counties from Alexandria/Arlington to as far south as Orange County and from east on the Potomac River to the Shenandoah and West Virginia border (and all points in between!). Between the military, corporate, and government relocations, having an agent working to provide you with the latest statistical information and market trends is imperative to a successful sale or purchase. Also, as an e-Pro, finding you homes and communicating that to you becomes increasingly efficient, as does marketing properties for sale. Using exceptional photography for virtual tours, staging all listings, and incorporating "out of the box" methods to generate the largest number of buyer leads while Marketing Your Property For Sale, I can save you time, money and frustration. Start your search for homes at http://www.IreneMoralesWard.com!
This entry was posted in First Time Home Buyers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

